The (Blank) Notebook

Like many card & dice players, I keep score the old fashioned way: by hand.

Since I rolled my first APBA game in 1982, I’ve always kept a full scorecard for each game I roll.

I’ve seen some that do what I would call “short-hand score-keeping”.  By that I mean that the outs are just drawn out as, say, a giant X on the score-sheet.

That won’t do for me.  I need to see “6-3” or “7”.

With each new project started comes the purchase of a new notebook to keep all the game results in.

My wife has bothered me for a while about how many notebooks are lying around the house.  She probably wouldn’t be surprised to find out how many of those notebooks are remnants from projects for Strat-o-Matic, APBA, Dynasty League, or home-brewed ball games.

We recently moved up from the Chicago suburbs to Madison, Wisconsin.  Nothing forces you to examine how much of a pack-rat you’ve become more than moving.

So this past winter, boxing things up, I finally parted way with those notebooks.  It was the sensible thing to do.  As I came across each past season, I’d look at it and wonder “Honestly, am I ever going to look through these old score-cards again?”

Of course the answer was no.  So out they went into recycling.  Or at least the games were torn out and whatever pages were left over were handed off to our wonderful children so that they could use it for drawing.

Summary-Detroit

Summary File – Detroit Tigers

I’ve just about got all my teams “prepped” for my replay.  I have a sheet for each team that prints out all the information I like to have handy for them during a replay.  Their rotation, their bullpen assignments, their lineup, their bench, the maximum number of games I’ll allow each position player to miss during the season, their ages, and some notes about the kinds of pitches a pitcher threw.

I like to picture those things as the game plays out.

But, to circle back around here, the one thing I didn’t have yet was my new notebook for the replay.

I picked one up on the way home from work yesterday.

There are some problems with it.  Where the holes exist on each page are always an important factor, because I may not have space to write in a player’s name.

In my 1934 replay, for example, I couldn’t always fit “Knickerbocker SS” in for Billy Knickerbocker.  The damned hole always ended up where I was supposed to write that!  So he routinely was just listed as “BK” instead.

Also, it’s time for Back to School shopping.  Which meant that the selection of notebooks was extremely limited.

This is what I ended up with.

White Notebook

White Notebook

Colorless. Plain. White.

But it will do.

This is a canvas after all.  Waiting to be filled with memories from another replay.

When I was a kid, a close friend and I were pretty well obsessed with new notebooks.  In high school, we were both into creative writing.

He stuck with it.  I did not.

But once or twice a month, we’d head over to the bookstore at our high school to purchase a new notebook.

There was a thrill there, thinking of all the possibilities about what might end up in that notebook.  Stories.  Comics book sketches.  Song lyrics.

Things could come to life in that blank notebook.

It’s 25 years later now and not much has changed.

One response to “The (Blank) Notebook

  1. Yes, playing C&D, my wife was/is always questioning all the loose paper around (and the notebooks).
    Not as bad now since I at least use the computer for total stats.
    ?
    Q – about the holes in your paper, couldn’t you buy hole-less paper?
    Maybe put tem in sleeves after you have filled them out?
    ?
    deadrock

    Like

Leave a Reply

