Song Flashback: Owner of a Lonely Heart

On January 21st, 1984, Yes knocked Paul McCartney and Michael Jackson’s “Say Say Say” out of the top spot on the Billboard Hot 100.

For two weeks, “Owner of a Lonely Heart” led the countdown.

I have a strong memory of this song that’s connected to my brother’s early days fiddling around with one of the early personal computers.

He had found some program somewhere that had “Owner of a Lonely Heart” available as a digital four-track. These were sub-mixes, so the drums were one stereo channel, keyboard another, guitars another, and bass another. My memory could be off on that.

Anyhow, you could play the song back and hit keys to decide which instruments you wanted playing at any given time. Again, I’m not sure if I’m imagining this all, because downloading something like that back in the day over a dial-up modem…  it would have taken forever for him to get that, so maybe I’m way off on this one.

Anyhow, this song was never my bag, but I certainly had some friends who were into it. I was never much of a “prog” guy.

Yes enjoyed two weeks at the end of January, 1984, with the #1 song in the States.

Leave a Reply

