Movie Flashback: Red Dawn

red-dawn-movie-poster-1984-1020191147

WOLVERINES!!!

I probably watched “Red Dawn” at least a half-dozen times as a kid.

The 1984 film that told the story of the United States being invaded by the Soviet Union was on TV quite a bit in my childhood, and my brothers and I rarely failed to watch it.

(By the way, this is a land invasion of the US by the Soviets, not the cyber-hacking that they do every day now.)

The part that was weird to me was… the movie is set in a small Colorado town that is taken over by Russian paratroopers.

Why, if you were going to invade America, would you launch your assault on a small town in the middle of nowhere?

I’m not sure that was ever explained, but whatever. My brothers and I enjoyed “playing war” as children and this scratched the itch.

Not everybody was impressed, however…

Not impressed then or now. And believe me, I love war movies, way more than you do.
– The Blogger’s Wife

Starring Patrick Swayze, C. Thomas Howell, Lea Thompson, Charlie Sheen and Jennifer Grey, “Red Dawn” was the top film at the U.S. box office for the weekend of August 12th, 1984.

I did not know this, but it is apparently the first ever film to be given the PG-13 rating. There’s some good movie trivia for your Friday!

One response to “Movie Flashback: Red Dawn

  1. Pingback: Movie Flashback: Missing in Action | 1984 MLB Replay

Leave a Reply

