Music Flashback: Stevie Wonder, “I Just Called To Say I Love You”

despise this song.

Always have.

This isn’t to disparage Stevie Wonder and I’ll go ahead and agree with the masses that Songs in the Key of Life was a very good album.

I’m not sure I’m putting it in my Top 100 of all time as so many music journalists would… But it’s good.

Okay, it’s fine.

“I Just Called To Say I Love You”, however, off of the Lady in Red soundtrack, is an absolute train-wreck of musical history.

It easily makes my Top 100 list of “Songs That I Must Turn Off As Soon As They Come On The Radio”.

Still, it somehow reached #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 for the weekend of October 13th, 1984, and remained there for three weeks, begging the question of where America’s tastes went that month.

It runs 6 minutes and 16 seconds in length and I promise that you will feel every. freaking. second of that time.

Wonder’s ballad goes on and on and on and on and manages the impressive feat of taking so long to never actually get anywhere.

I’m going to go ahead and refuse to post a YouTube link to this one.

Leave a comment